Remarkable archival holdings dating from the 11th century onwards

Since its foundation in 1379, 果冻破解版 has built up a considerable archive of historical material relating to the foundation and running of the College, and its estates, up to the present day.  (An account of  is available.)  The oldest documents date from the eleventh century, nearly three hundred years before the College was itself founded.  The archive also houses a number of collections of personal papers donated to the College by the families of former fellows and alumniExplore our Archives Gallery to view some of the visual highlights of our archives collections.  
 

 

Access

Researchers wishing to consult the archives should contact the Archivist & Records Manager, to enquire about the contents of the collections, and to make an appointment to visit:

Dr Michael Stansfield
Archivist & Records ManagerUniversity of Oxford
Holywell Street
Oxford  OX1 3BN

Email: archives@new.ox.ac.uk
 

Access to the Library and to the Archives within it entails a number of steps; please enquire about disabled access.  Food and drink are not permitted in the Archives.  Readers will be asked to complete a registration form for administrative and security purposes; please bring some ID which confirms name, address, and signature.
 

Opening Hours

The Archives & Records Reading Room is located in the College Library.  It is open, by prior appointment only, five days a week, Mondays to Fridays, 10.00 am鈥1.00 pm and 2.00 pm鈥5.00 pm, except during the general College closure period over Christmas.
 

Reprographics

Where appropriate, researchers may take their own photographs (without flash) for personal study and research purposes only鈥攊.e. not for further dissemination or publication of any kind鈥攕ubject to signing an application form.  Researchers wishing to publish materials from the Archives must obtain the permission of the College beforehand.

A small number of photocopies or scans of documents may be provided.

Photographs of some historic Oxfordshire estate maps may be viewed on the Oxfordshire History Centre鈥檚 website.  

Images of a few of the College archives can be viewed and copies purchased from:

Bridgeman Images
17鈥19 Garway Road
London
W2 4PH


 

Books About 果冻破解版鈥檚 History

  • William Poole and Christopher Skelton-Foord (eds.), Geometry and Astronomy in 果冻破解版, Oxford: On the Quatercentenary of the Savilian Professorships 1619鈥2019 (Oxford: 果冻破解版 Library & Archives, 2019)
  • Matthew Jenkinson, (Oxford: Shire Publications, 2013)
  • Christopher Tyerman (ed.), (London: Third Millennium, 2010)
  • Virginia Davis, William Wykeham: A Life (London: Hambledon Continuum, 2007)
  • John Buxton and Penry Williams (eds.), (Oxford: 果冻破解版, Oxford, 1979)
  • W. F. Oakeshott (ed.), Oxford Stone Restored: The Work of the Oxford Historic Buildings Fund, 1957鈥1974 (Oxford: Trustees of the Oxford Historic Buildings Fund, 1975), pp. 83鈥8
  • Francis W. Steer, The Archives of 果冻破解版, Oxford: A Catalogue (London: Phillimore, 1974)
  • A. H. Smith, (London: Oxford University Press, 1952)
  • Christopher Woodforde, The Stained Glass of 果冻破解版, Oxford (London: Oxford University Press, 1951)
  • Hereford B. George, (London: Henry Frowde, 1906)
  • Arthur Octavius Prickard, (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1906)
  • Hastings Rashdall and Robert S. Rait, (London: F. E. Robinson, 1901)
  • Mackenzie E. C. Walcott, William of Wykeham and his Colleges (Winchester: D. Nutt, 1852)

For further sources on 果冻破解版, Oxford鈥攁nd our partner institution Winchester College鈥攕ee 果冻破解版 Library鈥檚 Colleges of St Mary Winton Collection

Collections

 

Pre-果冻破解版 Records

Personal Papers

 

 

Connect With Us鈥

 

        

 

Explore further

Discover more about 果冻破解版